March 5, 2010

MY PR stance on Educational Budget Cuts

Posted in 1, ME... ME... ME... Klarity, PR Connections at 4:35 PM by Victoria

Please review this document before reading

When I discovered it would be severe budget cuts in Georgia, I was not surprised. The timing of certain aspects of the budget cuts was suspicious to me.

I thought it wasn’t a coincidence that the information about the cuts hit the fan the day President Obama came down to speak at Savannah Technical College in downtown Savannah, Georgia.

I must say that I’m quite upset with the politics and decisions that are happening and affecting not only my education, but my peers, future leaders, and my nieces and nephew.

 I’m upset because when I looked through the executive summary outlining the cuts at the different universities in Georgia, I seen many universities eliminating programs that are very important to their students, staff and community.  For example, a few universities are terminating outreach programs and the Center for Excellence in Teaching.

I believe that many of the discontinued programs are to used as a political move to raise a red flag and gain awareness.  In the summary, Georgia Southern stated that it would possibly cut the nursing program and ROTC. Of all the programs at the university, school officials would choose the nursing program, which is one of the best programs and encompasses some of the best students Georgia Southern has to offer.

Georgia Southern is not the only university that planned to cut their nursing program. Augusta State and Georgia College and State University may end their program and/or put it at risk of losing accreditation due to budget cuts.

Many schools stated the programs they plan to eliminate the current students in the program would have to transfer out or change their majors. I believe that universities should somehow support the students currently in the program and have them grandfathered out.

I think that it is totally unacceptable that the students involved with programs were not given advanced warning of such critical information. It seemed like they were notified through the media outlets and not the university.

I believe that the Georgia legislature did this to put heat on the President and I think the cuts designated by some universities were set up in a way to put heat back on the Georgia legislature. I don’t think that the plan worked for the Georgia legislature as we see democrats seeking to run to the aid of college students blaming the republicans and republicans telling the media that it necessary to avoid tax increases.

I think this is all a publicity stunt and politic move to put heat on the legislature. I think it smart but it comes with a lot of backlash, even if it does work.  If the 300 million dollar university system cut is rescinded, many legislatures and university professionals will need a lot of PR and crisis management professionals to gain back their favorable light.

Leave a Reply

