March 27, 2010

TOW 11: Martin Waxman

Posted in PR Connections, PR Social Media, TOW at 11:46 AM by Victoria

What I learned:

Martin Waxman provided a lot a valuable information. I feel as though his information was very useful because he is still actively working in the PR field and he is a professor. He is able to provide his students with very updated and hands on information by being very active in his field.

It is imperative for graduating pr majors to still be able to utilize the tradition skills gained during college. Even though social media is emerging forcefully Mr. Waxman stated that it is still important that we know the traditional media relations.  I learned that it may less of importance but it is still a necessity. 

 He offered a book that he thought we should read also it’s “Closure He’s here come Everybody”

What surprised me:

During the interview Waxman stated that while it’s important to know how to use social media you dont have to be on it all the time. This is helpful because I’m not extremely interested in blogging but because I know how to do it, that would give me an advantage when trying to get hired.

It also surprised me that he works actively in the PR field and teaches. This is a great advantage for his students because they are being taught by someone who works everyday in their field of study with real clients.  

The importance of podcasting and traditional relations surprised me also. I thought that because I was informed with social media  I didn’t need to be fluent in my knowledge of traditional media relations. 

What I want to learn more about:

Podcasting and branding my client using podcasting. It’s a new form of technology to me (in the sense) that I have not used if before. Martin __ uses podcasting with his client and he says its better than writing a blog bc once its done its done so you have to think more. I believe that this will help with just your pr skills overall because you are practically thinking on your toes.

Leave a Reply

